How do you classify advanced venous disease using the CEAP classification?


CEAP = Clinical severity, Etiology or cause, Anatomy, Pathophysiology

C 4 = Skin pigmentation in the gaiter area 
C4a = stasis dermatitis
C4b = lipodermatosclerosis
C 5 = A healed venous ulcer
C 6 = An open venous ulcer

The CEAP classification is used to 'classify' patients with vein disorders so that an objective categorization is made for treatment and follow-up. For example, C1 implies that the problem is purely cosmetic and can be dealt with sclerotherapy or lasers. A patient classified as C6 has a venous stasis ulcer and a C5 patient has a healed venous stasis ulcer. A patient who has varicose veins and swelling in the legs is classified as CEAP 3 or C3.

Article by
Buffalo Phlebologist