Beware of

I am looking to hear from people that have had...

I am looking to hear from people that have had Artefill in the Wa state area injected by their Dr. who was following direction by a supposedly qualified consultant. Over 3 weeks ago I went for botox and only a Artefill skin test and information.Consultant was a excellent seller and I bought it, given a 10 minute wait skin test and then 8 immediate injections into temples and upper cheek area to supposedly help with droopy lip line and chin.Had a bad reaction within hours and looked very distorted. After checking FDA site discovered that a skin test should be 4 week wait and I fit into all the categories of who should not use it. I have severe allergies and hypersensitive to many things, Asthmatic and severe latex allergic too. My Dr. is very aware of all my allergies and sat through the whole sales pitch and never said a word. Just by chance met another woman with same horrible reaction(she was only scheduled for botox also) and ended up buying 8 injections to upper face and same reaction and lo and behold same consultant. Only difference in our stories were that she was another City. Still have bruising and droopiness in one eyes and small bumps. Had to go on prednisone and Patenol eyedrops for reaction. Take daily allergy pills anyway and that seemed to help too.Trying to find out information on her has been difficult and the Dr's office was hesitant to give it to me. Her site is all about how she can convince you that you need, want and will finance anyway you can to have it. Has absolutely no qualification's listed her site and has not answered my email. Will try again. Did find out that she has an expired Barber/Cosmetology licence in California. At no time was I told anything but slight bruising was a side effect and would have immediate results. Have documented all visits and emails between Dr, office. I can't even get a straight answer if the consultant is licensed to administer a skin test let alone be qualified to determine your good after a 10 minute wait. Concerned for other women out there!!!! One of the worst things my Dr. asked when I went back scared and mad with this horrible reaction the next day (instead of their recommended two weeks) was " if the money was the problem". So much more but I will end by saying that I was very comfortable in that office and felt safe and secure because of my past experience with that office where I had taken and referred others.

My face is still not even,slightly discolored...

My face is still not even,slightly discolored under one eye, bumps still evident especially by one eyebrow, Wrote a long letter to Dr, about my concerns and results asking for my money back. Received a letter in return telling me she no longer wants me as a patient. I will respond again informing her that I will seek a refund through legal action and file a formal complaint with whatever department that is necessary. I am devastated that my face looks worse than before and read that this is permanent. Be warned I just read that the consultant is back in the office again on the 21st of Feb, she is not qualified to tell the doctor where to put the Artefill. The consultant will talk alot, fast, shooting off compliments left and right, to you, the Dr. and who ever else is in room. Leaves you no time to think, just like her website says, she can make the client feel they NEED it, have to HAVE it and will find a way to finance anyway they can. Just saying.......

My journey with Artefill

If you have followed my experience you will understand why I persisted in working at getting my $5,000 refunded. The Dr. refused to pay but I researched hours and kept a file and documented from day 1. I can happily say that my Doctor's insurance paid after just hearing my story starting with hard sell consultant who injected me with a 5 minute skin test and then terrible scary reaction afterwards plus permanent damage.I am still not done, besides expecting compensation for damage I want a complete change in how this product is sold as if it were a time share in that office. I did not use a lawyer. Also this is not a permanent filler as it is being sold, even the company that makes it told me that they really can't say beyond 7 years so........
Name not provided

Went for Botox and Artefill information, skin test and only intended just that.

1 out of 5 stars Overall rating
5 out of 5 stars Doctor's bedside manner
1 out of 5 stars Answered my questions
1 out of 5 stars After care follow-up
1 out of 5 stars Time spent with me
1 out of 5 stars Phone or email responsiveness
5 out of 5 stars Payment process
5 out of 5 stars Wait times
Was this review helpful? 4 others found this helpful

Comments (22)

Sort by

Do fight this! I've been lurking a bit, as one consult said Artefill was the only way to go. Obviously I'll be getting more opinions. While in his office he asked if he could swab my skin and test it, in case I decided to go that route. I said "sure".. and was out of there for another business appt. Best of luck.. don't let down. I've seen these things happen in cosmetic dentistry and it should be pursued. These people shouldn't be injecting... ANYTHING!
  • Reply
I signed up to get comments on ArteFill. I had ArteFill injected 3 1/2 years ago in my left chin and I still have a lump. It is the size of a dime. Last night I went out to a function and when I went to the bathroom I could see the lump in the mirror. Kind of put a damper on my whole night. This is been such a nightmare and I really don't think it will ever go away. If anyone lives in Colorado PLEASE PLEASE do not go to Dr. Ben Lee's office. Carrie Ireland is the one who injected me and overfilled the area. She should not be injecting anyone - and I am sure I am not the only one she has done this to. I also asked for my money back and one of the nurses there told me that Dr. Lee said it wasn't that bad. What a joke! They are supposed to make people fee good about themselves, not worse. I worked very hard on getting my skin to look good and she (CARRIE IRELAND) ruined it in just one day. Wish I never heard of ArteFill - was doing find with Juvederm.
  • Reply
Dr. John Decorato MD, NYC and Staten Island. It would be best not to use this so called physician for any plastic surgery procedures at all whatsoever. He shouldn't be practicing as a physician of any kind. He's useless and inept. There's no need to elaborate beyond this comment which most assuredly speaks for itself.
  • Reply
Moreover I am wondering just why docs are so insistent upon doing this stuff. I was never given such a major sales talk in all my life. Kind of mad I fell for it, like a dupe. I had gone in for Radiesse which he had done before and he kept saying not to do it, to do Artefill, that he loved this stuff and it lasted and he had it in his own face.
  • Reply
I am scared because I was given a similar forceful sales pitch and fell for it -- the doc insisted on how great it was, even sent in another person to talk me into it (which I found really strange) and NEVER did a skin test. Is a skin test necessary? I never knew that til now! I am very scared.
  • Reply
That is just plain wrong. It angers me that these M.D.s are not doing the right thing, that is, to do no harm. I would call Artefill to let them know that you were not even given a skin test. I myself would in the future walk away from high pressure sales tactics when it comes to any injectable.
  • Reply
Was the consultant named Glori? Am in touch with the Artefill company and they will be interested in what you have to say. They are calling my doctor about my complaint and going to investigate the consultant.Have also contacted FDA that I was told their guidelines are only suggestions, this was told to me by the doctor after I had a bad reaction and googled Artefill and FDA regulations and went back to complain the next day and show them the mess I was in. Still have a uneven face and bumps but another lady I met by chance at my hairdresser had hers done by a different doctor but same high pressure sales pitch consultant and she is worse than me with big bags on both cheeks. Please contact Artefill and tell them your story so other women do not have to go through this. Are you in Wa also?
  • Reply
Your experience with this supposed "filler consultant expert" sounds much like mine. I went into a California clinic for a consultation and was escorted into a room to see this fast talking expert. We discussed my past treatments one of which was Sculptra. She told me Sculptra was temporary and should try Artefill since it's permanent. She talked, talked, talked about how she has a great eye and had all these doctors that relied upon her keen eye. Doctors to Las Vegas showgirls, Newport Beach docs, Washington docs. She gave me the five minute skin test injection. I know now that it is a test that one should wait 4 weeks before proceeding. I was then taken to the injection room to meet the doctor who did the injection. The doctor bad mouthed Sculptra (which I had done in his sister's office) while she chattered nonstop the entire time I was injected. Everything she recommended or told me in consultation the doc negated. I looked swollen, bruised and felt duped and embarrassed afterward. Fortunately for me, a couple weeks later the bruising and swelling subsided. I will, however, never go back to that place again. I wish I could remember her name so that I could research her and put the word out to beware. Best wishes to you, ICG
  • Reply
I do know the name of consultant that did me and she is from California but not sure if I can post that here. Working to file formal complaints against her and my Dr. that allowed this scam to happen in her office.I have absolutely none of the promised results and face still not uneven with small bumps.
  • Reply
I had notified the maker of Artefill of this practice. Their only response was that the skin test should be administered and read 4 weeks after.
  • Reply
Good information to be used when I file my complaint against her.Have left a message with Artefill, consultant poses as a Artefill rep so..... Must be same consultant, MO sounds just like the one I had. Did you complain to your Dr. about results?
  • Reply
I did not complain to the doctor. As I said above, the initial swelling and bruising I experienced resolved and I did not have the unevenness and bumps as you have described. I do have one small bump. However, it isn't obvious. Good luck to you.
  • Reply
Are the results worth the money you spent. Just curious,did you have 8 injections also?
  • Reply
I purchased 6 vials. It was expensive but it did correct most of the hollowing I had in my temples and under my eyes as well as other areas of my face. The consultant had wanted me to come back for further treatment but I won't be going back to that clinic again. I guess my biggest concern regarding this consultant that is she not following the makers of Artefill's guidelines in skin testing which could endanger someone.
  • Reply
Artefill returned my call today and they were very interested in what happened to me. They took all the information and are following up with the Dr. ,The consultants website is Gloriloveconsulting.com, just a warning after the short artefill video, porn has been attached so you may not want to click on thumbnails. I figure all I have to say about her is true and I have a witness to back me as I was with a friend. They suggested a few Doctor's that specialize in Artefill for me to follow up with because of overfill and bumps.I am glad you had good results, wish I could say the same. They are concerned about the horrible reaction and the 5 minute skin test.
  • Reply
I looked on the website...yep, that's her. I'm glad you got a call back from Artefill.
  • Reply
IGC, I was reading your story -- sorry to hear what happened. Three years ago I had Artefill in my chin and it was overfilled creating a lump. I have tried everything to get rid of it, but it is still there. Looks very uneven. I wish I would of stuck with temporary fillers. I hope you have better luck. Let me know what they suggest for you.
  • Reply
When I reached out to the Artefill company, they were very interested in hearing my story and have sent me a list of their recommended Doctors to see. Two of us are going for problems with this filler and they will discuss with their in house Doctor the possibilities. I will not pay for this mess and sent a registered letter to my Dr. that I am seeking legal means to get my money back, asking nicely did not work. (Well it was hard to be nice while I am sitting there with an altered face).
  • Reply
Just an FYI, the doctor I went to is on Artefill's authorized physician list.
  • Reply

Wow, I am really sorry to hear what you have been dealing with. Thank you so much for stepping forward to share your experience.

Do you mind me asking what kind of doctor you were seeing? For example, was he general practitioner, a dermatologist, etc? 

  • Reply
She is a MD. Trying to figure out how to best approach all of this. Feel like I was treated without respect or care, was purposely mislead and lied to and who knows who the consultant is and with what qualifications as no one is willing to answer those questions. Asked for my money back and was sent a letter saying she had dropped me as a patient. Not done with this yet and looking at legal action and formal complaints. There is more to this story than there is room on this page. MAD!!!!!
  • Reply

I'm sorry to hear you feel you were mislead. I can understand why you would be upset over that. Let us know what you find out and how you are doing as this continues to progress for you.

  • Reply