Removing my 12 Year Old Wings. - Ohio

Session 1/Day 1. My tattoo is located on my...

Session 1/Day 1.

My tattoo is located on my upper back and is of wings. I received it around 11 years prior, so it was rather faded. THANKFULLY! I have been wanting to get the tattoo removed for some time, just never went through with it. When my boyfriend began suggesting we get married next summer, I wanted to being the process b/c I do not want this tattoo in my wedding photos.

My appointment was scheduled at 1:45. I was seen around 2:15 where numbing cream was applied along with an ice pack. About 30 minutes later, treatment was started. The session took about 30-45 seconds and did sting. It stung. Actually, I wouldn’t compare it to the snapping of a rubber band on the skin, like most do. I would say it felt like a bee sting. In all honesty, even afterwards. I had a 20 minute drive home, which felt like it took forever. I began to feel stiff in my shoulders and neck. As soon as I got home, I placed an ice pack on my back and laid face down on the couch. A few hours later, I felt a little less stiff, but I did feel a little flu like. I’m now feeling the same way, but have a headache and am really tired. Not sure if this is due to the tattoo removal, as I know my immune system is actually what gets rid of the ink, or if I am actually getting sick. Guess I’ll figure that out tomorrow! My next session is May 10th.


Session 1/Day 2. Ok. So, I've noticed a...

Session 1/Day 2.

Ok. So, I've noticed a little bit of fading.. maybe it's me being optimistic, or it it's actually fading quickly. I'm quite the bubbly, look-for-the-good in things kinda person. Who knows.
So, it is very sensitive. It's still red, looks a little scaly, and feels tight. Not so bad. I felt sluggish still today, like I was fighting a cold, etc. I work at a bank, and we are opening a new branch, so I was moving around a lot today.. as well as complaining. :) Poor guys. Thank goodness I'm pretty! ;) ;)

Ok kiddos! Saturday night I developed a few...

Ok kiddos!

Saturday night I developed a few little blisters. I guess I wasn't out of the park on that one yet. They were small and I didn't feel them, but, they looked gross when I looked at the picture my boyfriend took for me. It was still a little sensitive (sensitivity grew more when I saw the darn blisters!) but I didn't have much discomfort.

Today (Monday) I had my boyfriend take another picture for me, so I could get a clear view. It seemed to start itching, but then I discovered my pesky work shirt tag that was making the upper part itch. DARN YOU! It feels raised to the touch, but it seems to be just fine and only a tad sensitive. Could be in my head, but oh well! Enjoy the new pics!

4.4.12 AHHHH! It itches. And, is very .....

4.4.12

AHHHH! It itches. And, is very .. flaky. Thankfully, it's on my back so I can't pick at it. :)

May 17th, 2012. 3:40pm My appointment was at...

May 17th, 2012. 3:40pm

My appointment was at 2pm. Unfortunately they must have been running behind b/c I didn't get treated until 2:50. I hate waiting, especially when I know there's pain involved!

Anyways, I put a few pictures up. One is before I went in for treatment. The other.. is of a shirt I made with a little pocket to hold an ice pack while I was driving. I took one of my boyfriends ruined work shirts (it's big, doesn't require a lot to get on, and button up!). I'm quite the creative creature, so I make a lot of things. If you would like any suggestions as to what you can do, ask me! I might just make something for you!

My love came home for lunch at noon.. applied the Lidocane/numbing cream.. whatever it is that they gave me (I've attached a photo of that as well), covered it with plastic wrap and a few pieces of tape (we keep it classy round here ;)) and I left the house around 1:20. I put the ice pack in the little pocket and drove the 25 min to get there. It's actually not that far, but it is a very, VERY scenic route that has to be taken, which I def don't mind. Lots of trails and pretty things/cute guys with their shirts off. ;)

Well, I have to admit, I was prepared for some pain. It wasn't that bad. It was still bad, but only about 3/4 of the pain factor.
I'm getting a little tight feeling in my back/shoulders.. so I'm going to lie down and chill out. I'll update when I get a picture of the new session!

* Session 2, day three. OMG the...

* Session 2, day three.

OMG the blisters!!!

It doesn't hurt or itch.. but check out the pictures.. beware.. YUCK! It has faded quite a bit IMO.

Time for update! So sorry it has been a week or....

Time for update!
So sorry it has been a week or.. two since my last update. I have somehow managed to hurt myself (yet again) and have three fractures in my right foot! I've been hobbling around like a gimp and haven't been on the computer lately. YAY! I'm doing the Pelotonia which is a bike ride for cancer in August and am hoping my foot is better by then. If you'd like to learn more (or even join yourself) visit my profile: https://www.mypelotonia.org/riders_profile.jsp?MemberID=178877

Anyways, I learned to NOT use spray sunscreen on your tattoo that is being removed. It STINGS. Duh, Jessica. I didn't have any issues with using just regular sunscreen. It has been fading a lot and I have had no discomfort except for the itching. Without being able to shower, it's been a tad more difficult to clean, but my boyfriend has been wonderful about it. Enjoy the photos!

6.14.12. I'm going for my third session in a...

6.14.12.

I'm going for my third session in a week!! I'm so excited.. but I'm going to forgo summer sessions after this one. Sorry.. my pool is just too tempting. I love swimming and biking.. (ok.. biking is a stretch.. but it's fun) and I would rather wait til fall/winter to finish my treatments so I'm not tempted to swim after a session. I have hated sitting outside the pool with gauze on.. watching everyone swim. Forget that!! So.. I'm excited about my third and "last" session for season in a week!! No worries, my loves.. I will update you with anything and everything. Feel free to add me to fb if you'd like to! Just message me & I'll give you my email address.

6.21.12 Ok. My third and final session...

6.21.12


Ok. My third and final session (until 10.11) was done today.

It hurt.. probably as much as the first one.

It took 2 min.. yes.. I counted.

I told my dr that it had blistered very badly the last session and he said it was good. ???

The last session it did fade a lot.. but the blisters were kinda scary.

Anyways... Rum became my new friend (not BEST friend, don't worry my loves) tonight.

I feel like I was hit with a light saber across my back today. The pain lasted for a good 4 hours. I took some tylenol and put my shirt back on with the ice pack .. *cough*cough*hadsomerum*cough*


OK!! When getting a tattoo removed:
1: Find a dr.
2: Contact me for some cool ice pack shirts, etc. ;)
3. ICE PACKS
4. Numbing creme
5. Patience. No. I can't give you that. I'm about as patient as a.. uh.. crap. I'm not patient.
6. Figure out the BEST sitting position for the treatment.
My Dr. tried to get me to just sit up to do a treatment on my upper back. I told him I needed to brace myself against something. So.. BRACE YOURSELF AGAINST SOMETHING.
7. Rum is your friend.. only.. FOR THE NIGHT!!

Yep. Rum is being my friend. Wait.. I hear the couch... Gauze, A&D ointment ... goodnight beautifuls!!

Session 3, 17 hours later. I'm awake. I...

Session 3, 17 hours later.

I'm awake. I apologize for the rum rant.

Anyways, my dressing was changed this morning and it was awfully bloody. Gross.

The pain has subsided and it just looks nauseating now. That being said, enjoy the new photo!

I'm not having any side effects, tattoo wise anyways.. I can't say much for the rum. ;)

6.23.12 Ok, I believe one of my blisters popped...

6.23.12

Ok, I believe one of my blisters popped b/c all of a sudden I got a bee sting feeling where one of the blisters had been. I have not been able to check it out yet though.

I have noticed a LOT of fading! YAY!!! I'm so excited!

6.25.12 Ok.. you guys aren't going to love this...

6.25.12

Ok.. you guys aren't going to love this update. My back hurts. It's very, VERY sensitive. It's 4 days after session number 3 and I look rather bruised. I haven't had this before but I'm going to wait it out since it isn't getting WORSE... but it doesn't feel better either.

I will suddenly get sharp stinging sensations where the removal is taking place. Sometimes they last a few seconds, sometimes minutes. Very odd, as I haven't had this "side effect" before. I haven't found anything that triggers the sting though. I could be watching a movie and suddenly I'll feel the stinging. It feels like a sensitive bruise when I touch it. I do believe the dr was VERY aggressive this time, which is fine by me as I am taking the rest of the summer off.

I put up a new picture.. shows the "bruising"

Update of 6.26.12 ish.. New photo. The...

Update of 6.26.12 ish..

New photo.

The stinging has gone away.. now the itchiness has come.

I had my daughter put a crap ton of stick sunscreen on it for me this afternoon. I kept telling her to add more b/c it felt good due to the itching. She got upset that little flecks of the scabbing got onto the sunscreen stick. (OF COURSE.. out of the 10 sunscreen sticks, this one was her "favorite"

I will be scheduling my fourth session here within...

I will be scheduling my fourth session here within a month. I'm excited to get back to it.. I have had employment issues and had to postpone my october session.
Dr. David Dellinger DO FACOS

Being my first session, I sure hope my Dr. begins catching on to my sense of humor. When asked if I had had any significant weight gain, I replied "yes, I've gained 20lbs in 4 months. No reason, I'm just lazy." he didn't find it as amusing as I did. :)

4 out of 5 stars Overall rating
5 out of 5 stars Doctor's bedside manner
5 out of 5 stars Answered my questions
2 out of 5 stars After care follow-up
4 out of 5 stars Time spent with me
5 out of 5 stars Phone or email responsiveness
5 out of 5 stars Staff professionalism & courtesy
5 out of 5 stars Payment process
3 out of 5 stars Wait times
Was this review helpful? 7 others found this helpful