Write a review

Start Invisalign Tomorrow Eeeeeek! - Holborn, London

Hi all, I’ve been reading reviews on this...

Hi all, I’ve been reading reviews on this website for a few months now and have decided to take the plunge and try Invisalign. I have been to the dentist and have been told I am a good candidate. I’ve had the moulds, x-rays etc and am now going into the dentists tomorrow to have my first tray fitted. I’m a little nervous but there’s no going back now lol. My x-rays etc were £400 and the total cost of the invisalign is £2100. I have been told I will need the alingers for 18 months...

Everyone has always told me my teeth were ok but I have always wanted a perfect smile. I’ve attached a picture of my teeth at the moment. Any feedback from anyone about their experience would be great.

Day 3 – Ok, I went to my appointment on...

Day 3 – Ok, I went to my appointment on Tuesday expecting lots of attachments and a very tight and uncomfortable feeling when the brace was put on... INSTEAD, I went in, had one tooth filed slightly and on popped the brace. There wasn’t any tightness, it just felt a bit strange in my mouth. It was only when I took it out to eat later that I felt it had been putting pressure on my teeth. The filing wasn’t bad at all, I’m usually a nervous wreck at the dentist but it wasn’t uncomfortable or painful. Once the brace was in, my dentist had me practice a few times taking it out and putting it back in which was pretty easy. He did warn it would be harder when the buttons were attached.

I made an appointment to go back in 4 weeks time and was told I would have a few more teeth filed a little and the buttons added. I’m guessing this is when the pressure will really start. I was sent home with an additional set to change in two weeks time and I also bought a cleaning kit for £20. (The amount I am paying for this treatment I personally think you should get it for free!)

I have been experiencing a very dry mouth but I guess I’ll get use to that in time, I haven’t had a lisp which is good. I think the worse thing so far is waking up after sleeping with them in all night, I have a nasty taste in my mouth and have to get them out quick and give them a rinse. Just last night I noticed that the ends of my upper aligner were sticking out a bit and rubbing the inside of my gums, they’re a bit sore but it’s bearable. I’m a bit paranoid about my breath so have been sucking on tic tacs throughout the day and drinking water.

Most people I know knew I was getting the brace but unless they look really hard they say they can’t see it. I notice it but then I know it’s there :o)

Dec 2, 2010 Hi all. I went in to have my...

Dec 2, 2010

Hi all. I went in to have my attachments fitted on Tuesday (30th Nov 2010). I was quite nervous but all was fine. I have 5 attachments on my top teeth and 4 on my lower teeth. Also had a few teeth filed. Apart from a strange taste in my mouth afterwards it wasn’t that bad. They are exactly the same colour as my teeth and you can’t seem them unless I point them out :o)

I got back to work a few hours later, really hungry, and did have a minor panic attack when I couldn’t get the trays out. For the first month I had no attachments so taking them out was a breeze. Just pull down and done. But now having to pull the aligner over the attachments there is a lot more effort and dribble involved but I got the hang of it quite quickly. One of my lower attachments came off in the brace already but my dentist said he will just re-attach this at my next visit.

With the attachments I feel a little more pressure but nothing major, I don’t have any real pain or feel the need to take anything to help with it. Obviously I see no movement at the moment but am pleased with the process so far.

Dec 30th, 2010 I moved on to my 5th aligner...

Dec 30th, 2010

I moved on to my 5th aligner last night, had a little pain this morning when taking it out to brush my teeth and putting it back in. All in all though I haven’t had much pain at all. Not enough to need to take anything which I guess is a good thing but makes me think maybe it’s not working....

Anyway I‘m looking forward to actually noticing some movement, does anyone know when I’ll start to see a difference?

Hi all, just a short update. Things are pretty...

Hi all, just a short update. Things are pretty much the same as before. Still don't see any change other than a small gap in my front teeth. Really can't wait to start seeing a change.

Well what can I add. Nothing really. I’m on...


Well what can I add. Nothing really. I’m on trays 15 on the top and bottom now. On my packet for the bottom trays it says 15 of 17. Which I find strange as my teeth top and bottom don’t seem to have move at all! I’m getting increasingly worried and these trays aren’t doing anything at all :os

I’ve added a recent picture of me wearing my trays.

Wow I’m almost up to a year with my brace!...


Wow I’m almost up to a year with my brace! And no change! Brilliant! Not!

To be honest I can’t tell if my teeth have moved much. I am still wearing my last tray for my bottom teeth which was number 17. I am on tray 24 for my top teeth. The tray is almost perfectly straight and my teeth are nowhere near straight so this tray is very hard to wear. It doesn’t fit properly and I’m struggling to talk. I have two more trays for my top teeth which I assume will be the same as this one. Straight, even though my teeth aren’t! I have the dentist appointment on 25th Oct. I may have to have a chat and maybe change my course of treatment. Surely this isn’t working??? :os

I feel as if maybe the brace is giving a little to fit around my teeth and not the other way around :os


November 2nd, 2011 Hi all, went to the...

November 2nd, 2011

Hi all, went to the dentist yesterday for my check up and to have new photos and molds taken of my teeth. Wow it is a year today since I put on my first brace! Anyway I was a little worried as I haven’t seen much movement but the dentist assured me everyone is different and it takes longer for some than others. I have to wear the brace I currently have for 3 weeks while I wait for my new braces to come through. My last few didn’t fit well at all! Obviously because they were straight and my teeth don’t seem to have moved much so I’m really looking forward to my new trays. I asked what happens if they don’t completely straighten with this set and he said they just keep on going... Fingers crossed I see some changes soon....

November 18th, 2011 Hi, got my call on...

November 18th, 2011

Hi, got my call on Wednesday that my new braces had arrived. Went and picked them up last night. Popped in and had a couple more attachments put on. Two of which have come out since when removing the braces. Annoying.com. When putting on the first brace at the dentist last night it was very tight and a little painful but a brilliant fit compared to the last of my old set. I am now to wear each tray for 10 days. I have 26 trays for the top and bottom, should finish them around August 2012. It’s worked out a lot longer than the original 18 months. Oh well. The pain when I took them out this morning was awful but I know it’ll get better so not worrying about it too much. Fingers crossed this new set make a difference.

January 6th, 2012 Hi all, I took a new pick of...

January 6th, 2012

Hi all, I took a new pick of my teeth today and noticed a little movement, WOO HOO!

March 26th, 2012 Hi, I am on tray 12 of 26

March 26th, 2012

Hi, I am on tray 12 of 26 on my second set of braces now. Each time I put in a new tray I feel pressure on a different tooth, I can see a difference from when I started and have uploaded a new pic :o)

June 26th, 2012 Hi, I put in tray 22 of 26

June 26th, 2012

Hi, I put in tray 22 of 26 last night. Nothing new to report really... getting there slowly :o)

May 29th, 2013

Hi all, it has been a looooong time since I last posted on here. I am on my last two trays of my third set of refinement aligners. You get your first set and then three refinement sets. I assume if I want to go further with my treatment I’ll need to pay more. I had a visit with the dentist yesterday afternoon, he removed all of the attachments on the front of my teeth. I have to say they feel really strange, good strange! They feel very smooth and straight. I have three weeks left and then I’ll be going back to be fitted for my retainer. I know they’re not perfect but they’re definitely better than when I started out :o)
London Cosmetic Dentist

Dr Andrew McCarthy - Holborn Dental Centre - Central London He's very polite, imformative and answers any questions I have.

4 out of 5 stars Overall rating
4 out of 5 stars Doctor's bedside manner
4 out of 5 stars Answered my questions
4 out of 5 stars After care follow-up
4 out of 5 stars Time spent with me
4 out of 5 stars Phone or email responsiveness
4 out of 5 stars Staff professionalism & courtesy
4 out of 5 stars Payment process
4 out of 5 stars Wait times
Was this review helpful? 10 others found this helpful