Looking Forward to Results! - Kennett Square, PA

10/3/12 - Just got tray 1 of 16 for both upper and...

10/3/12 - Just got tray 1 of 16 for both upper and lower today. So far the process has been easy; I had my moulds taken earlier in the year and finally bit the bullet and proceeded with Invisalign after watching my teeth slowly get worse over the last few years. My doc said to wait a week to get my buttons put on, so I snapped the trays in and went on my merry little way this morning. They are not as uncomfortable as I had imagined. They are very snug, and I have also not had any issue removing them yet. I expect this to change once my buttons are placed. They are only slightly uncomfortable, I am not experiencing any pain, and there are no edges that rub or anything. I will update with all my tray changes, so stay tuned. I will get pics up soon, too.

Cheers,
A

10/15/12 - Hi again. It has been 12 days and I...

10/15/12 - Hi again. It has been 12 days and I just wanted to update my review. Last Wednesday I went in and had the buttons, or attachments, added to my teeth. I have probably more than average, with 12 total. Two of my teeth even have two on them! The process to have the buttons added was painless, and took about 20 minutes in and out. They are probably the worst part about getting invisalign, though, especially if you have as many as I do. With my invisalign trays removed to eat, they have caused painful ulcers on my lips and tongue that are just now starting to callous over enough to make eating bearable. It also makes getting the trays in and out very difficult, and I had even caused a small crack in my upper tray during removal. Due to the crack, I was given the go ahead to move on to trays number two after 10-12 days since beginning, so last night I popped in the new set with a couple of ibuprofen and slept well. It has not as been painful as the first trays were. I have also updated my review with pictures.

10/15/12 - I also forgot to add that my teeth are...

10/15/12 - I also forgot to add that my teeth are definitely moving; it is already easier to floss!

So I just finished trays 4 top and bottom of 16...

So I just finished trays 4 top and bottom of 16 and I am now a quarter of the way through. I am very pleased so far with the results and definitely see my teeth moving with each tray. I also enjoy getting my new trays and comparing them with trays #1; such a huge difference! I have totally gotten over the buttons and their annoying/sore-causing abrasiveness has subsided. In fact, I have pretty much gotten over the fact that I have this weird stuff in my mouth at all, and really don't notice having Invisalign until it is time to take them out to eat, clean, etc. I actually feel very odd without them in my mouth, and prefer them in! I never thought that would be the case. There is still pressure and mild pain when a new tray starts, but the pain is usually localized to only one or two teeth that are being pulled into a new position. Simply put new trays in before bed with some ibuprofen, no big deal. Some new trays are much harder to remove than others; I suppose it is just dependent on what teeth each tray is really focusing on. For example tray 4 was the first set that I had pain and much difficulty removing for the first two days. I just started set 5 last night, and they pop out easily! So don't be discouraged if you have a set that seems too difficult, they are not all that way and, in my experience, they do not get progressively more difficult. Thus far, I am very happy with my choice and any issues or complaints I had with my Invisalign at the beginning have vanished in a few short weeks. I have updated with new pictures.

1/24/13 - Invisalign is going great. It has been a...

1/24/13 - Invisalign is going great. It has been a very easy process, and definitely gets better over time. I still have not had any major issues at all, though I have been wanting to whiten my teeth but I can't due to all of my buttons (I feel I will have discolouration where the buttons are covering enamel). I am now halfway through treatment, having just finished trays 8 of 16 on both upper and lower jaw. I am pleased with the results and am very excited to see what it will be like when I have completed all 16 trays. I have updated with new photos, too. Hopefully this will help you decide if you'd like Invisalign, too!
Eckman Family Dentistry

This provider takes my insurance for my routine dental work. Elder Dr. Eckman has a bedside manner which I could see might be an acquired taste for some to tolerate, however I am not too put off by it. But I am not praising it, either. Their office manager, (I think that's what he is) Steven, however makes up for it and is quite the gentleman. Their techs and front desk staff is great, too.

4 out of 5 stars Overall rating
2 out of 5 stars Doctor's bedside manner
4 out of 5 stars Answered my questions
4 out of 5 stars After care follow-up
3 out of 5 stars Time spent with me
5 out of 5 stars Phone or email responsiveness
5 out of 5 stars Staff professionalism & courtesy
4 out of 5 stars Payment process
4 out of 5 stars Wait times
Was this review helpful? 1 other found this helpful

Comments (10)

Your teeth are moving very good, You've made great progress. I can imagine that when you reach 16/16 your teeth will be perfect, If not very close to. I must however mention I love your blue eyes, Your brown hair really makes them "Pop" . Good luck to you with your treatment using invisalign.
  • Reply
Jake, you are too kind. Your teeth are looking great as well! I appreciate the compliments and I hope you, too, are excited about your final results :-)
  • Reply
Wow! I am still debating whether I want to get invisalign or braces. My teeth aren't bad, but I just want them perfectly straight. After seeing your results so far, I think I will opt for the Invisalign method as I couldn't imagine having to deal with metal brackets and wires for upto 2 years, especially being in Uni! I hope all goes well with the rest of your treatment.
  • Reply
Thanks for your comment! I highly reccommend Invisalign, I have been very pleased so far!
  • Reply
*recommend
  • Reply
Wow! I see great progress! I am getting ready to start tray #2/33 tomorrow. I had buttons placed yesterday and my orthodontist told me to wear the first trays a few more days (2-3), then switch. They are a little more difficult to get off....but manageable. So happy for you! Thanks for your update.
  • Reply
Thanks for you comment, Sue! I have had a really good experience thus far, and am very excited to see final results. I hope your process is going great, too!
  • Reply
Good luck with your treatment I hope all goes well!
  • Reply
Thanks! I am very happy thus far.
  • Reply

Thanks for sharing! We look forward to seeing your photos and following your Invisalign journey! Here's to super straight teeth.

  • Reply