Living out my flirty thirties to the fullest-VSG 2014-BBL@Spectrum coming soon

Hey everyone...I have been on the forum for almost...

Hey everyone...I have been on the forum for almost 2months and I appreciate all who shares their story and open their life to us. As I stated I am a 32 year old single mother of one teen, divorcee, recent nursing college graduate working on a new me.

I have been struggling with my weight on and off for the last 10years or more. I have thought about getting the lab band over the last couple of years but never went through with it and I am glad I didn't. I finally made a decision in January to go through with it but not the lap band, I have decided to go with the Sleeve. Prior to January I was on a weight loss program for over a year which including monthly weigh in, phentermine and B12 shots; it seemed to work in the beginning but then nothing. That worked out in my favor because according to my insurance I needed a 6month recent history before I can even be considered.

01/10/15 decided to start the sleeve journey
01/14/15 education seminar
01/21/15 initial consultation with bariatric weight loss team
01/23/15 PCP for medical necessity
01/27/15 Pulmonary Testing
01/29/15 Psych Clearance
01/30/15 Sleep Study
02/02/15 Gallbladder Ultrasound
02/03/15 Pulmonary Clearance
02/04/15 Cardiology Clearance
02/09/15 ABG test
02/10/15 Bariatric Support Group
02/11/15 GI Clearance
02/19/15 Final Test EGD completed

I was on the ball. Once I make a decision to do something I do whatever to make it happen and I am so tired of carrying this 260lbs around with me. I was also told on my initial appt 01/21/15 that I needed to lose 13pounds prior to surgery and as of 02/25/15 I have lost 11pounds. As of today I am just sitting and waiting for my insurance approval. I hope Maryland Physician Care approve me soon and I can get Sleeved sooner than later. If anyone have that insurance I would like to know if it worked for your surgery and how long was you approval time?

I can't wait for this new chapter in my life.

ready to get this "sleeve" lyfe on the ball

Hey out there everyone...Hope all is well with my new sleeve friends..Although I was on the ball with getting everything I needed done as far as the pretesting now I am still at a standstill awaiting insurance approval. I am becoming so impatient and I am ready to begin this new life...

On the flip side I had some good news I recently took my nursing board exam for the 2nd time and thank God I made it..I am officially a licensed nurse; which is more the reason I wanna hurry up and get the surgery now. I don't wanna start working as a nurse and have to take time off for the surgery I want to get it done before I jump back in the working force. Once I start back working its no stopping me.

How long does this insurance approval usually takes?


Whoop whoop!!! All this good news in one week I don't know how to take it..First I pass my the nursing boars exam and received my nursing license now I just received a call from my bariatric surgeon office saying that my insurance approved me and my surgery is March 31. I guess when GOD said its your time he meant it..I have been a struggling overweight college mom for quite awhile now and I am really starting to finally see the light at the end of the tunnel. I will starting my new life journey as of April 1st as a new nurse on a mission to be also a more healthy energetic mom.

I am soooooo looking forward to my new beginning....

13days away from officially being "Sleeved"

My Surgery date March 31st, I have to be at the hospital at 6am and the surgery time is 7:45am. A couple ppl that I actually have told keep asking me "are you nervous"? Funny thing is I am not nervous at all I am so excited to get a chance to start over as a new healthier me. I can't wait. Although this process was fast for me these days til the surgery seem to be going very slowly. I guess the next thing on my to-do list is working on my patience lol... I have my last appointment with my surgeon and team is on March 25.

Whoop whoop!!! I am ready...bye bye fat Nicole and hello healthy slim Nicole lol

im officially sleeved!!!

3days post op...i definitely will be probably stating that this was one of the best decisions I ever made but not today lol...i am a lil sore but the pain is mainly from gas or acid reflux type of chest pains when challenging myself to drink my fluids...other than that i am doing just fine. I cant wait til these next 2wks is over...

1week Post Op Drs. Appt..Exactly 8days

Hey everyone...I had my 1week Post Op Drs. Appt today..It has been exactly 8days since the surgery. I have lost 15pounds since the surgery WOW...I am so happy about that.

I am not gonna lie tho that clear liquid diet is a challege for two reasons : u get bored with those liquids and on the flip side its a challenge just trying get in the needed amount of fluids. Starting today I am on full liquids...I am so looking forward to next week smashed n mashed foods...

8weeks post op

Hello all bariatric family..
All is going ok on my end. Its been about 8wks and I have lost a total of 40pounds altogether. I went from wearing an 18/20 to 14/16 so far but its just the beginning. Still struggling getting down all the needed water protein shakes or even food...It will be fine. I am looking forward to losing more. I am back working out at the gym. My highest weight 260 in Jan, surgery weight 250 in March, and current weight 220 in May. I look forward to getting below these terrible twos lol..I wonder should I be losing more weight.

Hope all is well with u guys!!


Feeling good

Its been 4months 2weeks and I have lost a total of 65pounds. SW 260 CW 195. So proud of my progress, hope it continues. I must say its still a battle with learning portions sometimes.

I hope all on this weight loss journey is doing well and continuing the journey. Be blessed.

BBL surgery coming soon HELP

BBL surgery on Aug.5 and I am still looking for a reasonable clean and respectful Recovery House. That is a major concern of mines..

Finally!!!!!!!!!!! BBL here i come

I am scheduled for my BBL on Aug5 and I finally decided to recover at Claudia recovery house. I heard lovely reviews on her compassion when caring for cosmetic surgery patients so that is where I need to be. I cant believe I have least a month left. I am so anxious. Is anyone going during the week of Aug4-Aug9 as well????

10more days til I go to Miami for my BBL

I am so ready for this BBL, a new me. I deserve it. Yes I love myself but who said that I cant want better. Everybody better watch out when I get this BBL done. lol

BBL update

It's my 5day post op...I am doing ok no real complaints other than being a lil sore and uncomfortable due to being restricted on what I can be doing. I am really happy with the results tho. Big Thanks to Dr.Alvarez @Spectrum Aesthetics. I went to Claudia recovery house. I appreciate the recovery assistance Claudia and her assistant Frania gave me, if nothing else I wish they were more fluent in English. That language barrier made a difference.
Dr. Sung Kim

Was this review helpful? {{ voteCountOthers + ' other' + (voteCountOthers == 1 ? '' : 's') }} found this helpful