Don't Waste Your Money with Such an Incompetent Doctor - New York, NY

Dr. Yael Halaas is very incompetent and does not...

Dr. Yael Halaas is very incompetent and does not have enough training despite her diplomas all over the wall.
I was first interviewed by a very attractive young woman who informed me about the doctor’s office and her credentials. After the intake was completed, Dr. Yael came to me and introduced herself and asked me what I needed; I told her that I was concerned about the wrinkles and dark circles around my eyes; and she recommended to have botox. I told her that I wanted something more dramatic and better results maybe an eyelift job; but she advised me to get a laser procedure instead. Well… my procedure supposed to be very simple: CO2 Laser. She promised that in addition to my face she will do the neck to for $2,500 and requested a deposit to schedule my appointment; and she also sold me some prepation creams and medications for a cost of additional $300; I paid. My appointment was postponed it twice. Finally the day of my treatment came; her assistant put me in a room where she applied some cream to numbed my face. Later I was introduced to another room and there she was along with the machine technician. As they were treating my face they were talking about their families, vacations, and other doctors’ operations; I guessed that she became so distracted with the chat that she ask the guy - in several occasions - that if some parts of my face were already treated??? (BUT she was the doctor not him); the technician also instructed her about the machine and the different levels of intensity. At that point I was shaking my head, but I couldn’t even move my lips to complain. Of course, she didn’t do my neck and I didn’t even mention it, because it was already too painful. I did all the post treatment, stay home for over a week and applied the different lotions. In conclusion there was almost no improvement and my skin color became a little darker.
I have decided to do an eyelift, but I searching for good surgeons and checking reviews…
dont call they want your name for legal reasons
Reply
I would not recommend a doctor who isn't paying attention and having idle chit chat while patient is laying there in pain is unprofessional.
Reply
Hello, We are so sorry to hear you were unsatisfied with your treatment. Dr. Halaas and her staff always strive to provide the best care for all of her patients, and rarely hear of issues like this. It is unfortunate to see any patient unhappy, and we would like to extend our deepest apologies. I would like to know if there is anything we can do to make this situation better for you. Unfortunately, we are unable to locate you in our records without having your proper name and information. We have tried to look up your username that was on Yelp and it shows we have never had a patient with that name. In order for us to handle this issue you are stating, we will need you to call our office or email us directly. Please give us a call in our office at 212-688-5955 and ask for the office manager to discuss. We look forward to hearing from you. Best Regards, Dr. Halaas and Staff
Reply
Manhattan Facial Plastic Surgeon

Incompetent

2 out of 5 stars Overall rating
3 out of 5 stars Doctor's bedside manner
2 out of 5 stars Answered my questions
1 out of 5 stars After care follow-up
2 out of 5 stars Time spent with me
2 out of 5 stars Phone or email responsiveness
3 out of 5 stars Staff professionalism & courtesy
3 out of 5 stars Payment process
3 out of 5 stars Wait times
Was this review helpful?