Ultrapulse for 26 Yr Old Burn Scars - Miami, FL

On 10/09/2012 I received three different laser...

On 10/09/2012 I received three different laser treatments on my cheeks and chest for thermal burn scars caused by a hairdryer at 2 months o age. I believe all three were CO2 lasers, one to reduce the Browning of the chest scar and the other two were for resurfacin and reducing the elevation of the scars. I am not expecting a 100% disappearance of the scars but rather a flattening of them. I should note that I have had numerous reductive surgeries throughout my childhood through Dr.Habal at the Shriners Hospital in Tampa. In 2003 at 17 they informed me I'd had everything that could be done to improve them and my remaining option would be sanding which is 50/50 worse or better. Thankfully, there are more options now which I have persued.


Today is Day 1 post op10/10/2011. I am experiencing no pain or swelling, the treated areas are coming along as expected, reddish brown now with no spot bleeding like the day of the operation. I am cleaning with the vinegar soaks every 2-3 hours followed by application of Aquaphor for Baby. The treatment areas look great in terms of healing rate. Will keep updating

Please join RealSelf or sign in.

0 Comments

10/11/12 Day 2 post op. Morning started off rocky,...

10/11/12 Day 2 post op. Morning started off rocky, the mix of antibiotic and valtrex maked me sick since the RX said to take on an empty tummy. Won't do that again. Throat hurts from violent retching. Face is starting to tighten some. Have started to wash 2-3 xs daily with CeraVe and switched over from Aquaphor to Cicalfate by Avene which was purchased at my Drs. Slight stinging after washing but completely tolerable.So far so good. Had a few questions and was able to easily speak with staff at the Drs office. They are all very sweet and nice with excellent phoneside manners just like their bedside manners.

Please join RealSelf or sign in.

0 Comments

10/12/12 Day 3 post op. Went to work today, no...

10/12/12 Day 3 post op. Went to work today, no issues. Kept the treatment areas on my face covered with a surgical mask and wore a loose fitting tshirt. Kept Cicalfate on the areas as well, reapplied once during the day. Having more peeling and some very slight itching. Small twinges of pain from treatments on chest which I attribute to the weighf of my breasts possibilly pulling skin. Wearing bra straps tighter.

Please join RealSelf or sign in.

0 Comments

10/13/12 Day 4 taking it easy on this nice...

10/13/12 Day 4 taking it easy on this nice Saturday, napping here and there. Washing with CeraVe and keeping Cicalfate on treatment areas. Fresh skin is starting to become more visible. Skin feeling tight and again passing twinges of itches. Still no significant pain or negative reactions. The peeling skin does have a smell but not rancid or strong. Typical of dead skin after trauma or shock. Normal for that to occur. Seeing a significant flattening to the old scars. Still taking the Doxycicline and Valtrex as directed.

2 Comments

Best of Wishes!! Please update Would love to hear how you are doing.
  • Reply

Welcome to the community.   Thank you so much for sharing your journey and experience with us.  

Keep us up to date on how you are doing.  I am hoping that you do not have any pain during the healing process.  Definitely make sure to have food in your tummy before taking the meds.  They are wicked on the system without.

  • Reply

11/12/12- It took about a week for me to heal to...

11/12/12- It took about a week for me to heal to the point where makeup can be applied. I use the tinted SPF 50 "Haute Protection" by Avene. TOTALLY LOVE IT! I haven't found any cons regarding this procedure. My scars show significant fading and smoothing. I was never truly in pain, just minor discomfort. I will probably have another one or two procedures done to almost completely eliminate my scars. Will be having my followup apt on Friday and will update with Doc's opinion.

Please join RealSelf or sign in.

0 Comments

Dr Jill Waibel

Dr. Waibel is the leader nationwide when it comes to the treatment of burn scars using lasers. She is most known for the amazing work she did on the Berns Triplets. she cares about her patienrs and it comes across in all interaction I had with her. She is very nice and takes time to set realistic expectations aand to answer ALL your questions.

5 out of 5 stars Overall rating
5 out of 5 stars Doctor's bedside manner
5 out of 5 stars Answered my questions
4 out of 5 stars After care follow-up
5 out of 5 stars Time spent with me
5 out of 5 stars Phone or email responsiveness
5 out of 5 stars Staff professionalism & courtesy
5 out of 5 stars Payment process
4 out of 5 stars Wait times
Was this review helpful? 1 other found this helpful