Write a review

1 yr and half later- PICs Updated- SO WORTH IT!!!! (tt, mr, lipo) spinal anesthesia

Booked for a full TT with Lipo on Wednesday the...

Booked for a full TT with Lipo on Wednesday the 18th of January. Have had big babies and worked hard on getting my figure back, only belly left. After a lot of reluctance and hoping and praying, I've decided to do it!! I'll be doing it with spinal anesthesia.

Met with the doctor and saw pics of her work. All looks impressive. She has been very good about explaining how she will do things and she encouraged me to do my research, think about it and come for as many consultations as I needed to make my decision.

Surgery is after tomorrow. I'm super excited and...

Surgery is after tomorrow. I'm super excited and nervous as well!!!!!

12 hours before surgery!!!! I'm super excited!!!!!...

12 hours before surgery!!!! I'm super excited!!!!! I've been hoping for this day before I even knew it could approach! Ps wants me to take 2 glycerin suppositories tonight so that my intestines are free of any gas afterwards. Also drinking camomile to calm my nerves.

Day 1 post op I never imagined I'd be here! I...

Day 1 post op

I never imagined I'd be here! I was convinced that something was going to happen to come in between me and my tuck. Still have't seen my results but was happy to learn that my doc uses the quilting method that is a new and advanced method of stitching that some docs use to eliminate the need for drains. My ps is however also using drains but only for 2 days.

I had spinal anaesthesia during the procedure with some sedation. Surgery took 3.5 hours. I'm still in the hospital and erasing a binder that is size xx small. You can imagine how right this feels.i ask still not allowed to eat solids.

Ugh...my phones word prediction silly..can't seem...

Ugh...my phones word prediction silly..can't seem to go back and edit what I wrote. Binder feels tight, not right! And I'm still not allowed to eat. Only drinking. They just came to get me up and removed the urinary catheter. feeling lots of burning in my abdomen.

Day 2 po! Had tt on wednesday and now its friday...

Day 2 po! Had tt on wednesday and now its friday and soon I'll be going home. Waiting for ps to come and take drains out. I'm having grilled fish and tabouleh for lunch now. So fast this has veen a really positive experience. Cant wait to see what my tummy looks like!! The support garment that they have me in isn't bad at all. So far so good!!

Day 2 po! Had tt on wednesday and now its friday...

Day 2 po! Had tt on wednesday and now its friday and soon I'll be going home. Waiting for ps to come and take drains out. I'm having grilled fish and tabouleh for lunch now. So fast this has been a really positive experience. Cant wait to see what my tummy looks like!! The support garment that they have me in isn't bad at all. So far so good!! Ok...doc was just here, she removed drains and u still didn't see my tummy she has it wrapped up with a white player like thingie which she says helps against swelling.

Was adding the last few updates from my phone and...

Was adding the last few updates from my phone and the word prediction made a few silly entries. Not sure how to go back and edit was written!

Ok, so it's 2 days PO, and I'm home today. Back is very very sore. PS told me that I'd be more bent over than the average person because she took a lot of skin off. I tried to indicate in my last entry that it is covered with a white plaster like material that is holding my tummy in place. She says that it will grow more and more itchy by the day, but that on Thursday it will all come off and I'll just have my under garment. Will add a few before pix

Day 3 po uggggh!! the binder thingie that...

day 3 po

uggggh!! the binder thingie that extends to my legs is really really tight (size xxsmall) and its causing some blistering on the edges where the binder meets my inner thighs.

On a good note, I had my first bm!! guess all those castor oil capsules finally worked. It wasn't even painful- thank God! Per instruction of my ps I have been eating 8 small meals daily. No juice, only fruits, veggies (none that make gas), meat, eggs, but no bread or rice at all.

My back is still sore but at least I can walk around, though not for long as I'm still pretty bent over. I still have to practice my inhaling 8 times per hour on my tri-ball toy in order to prevent collapse of lung space. I'm on Cefuroxime (antibiotic) and on Voltaren suppositories (for pain)and Celebrex.

4 days PO This day is starting out really bad....

4 days PO

This day is starting out really bad. I am in so much pain because of this compression suit they have me in. size xx small and I'm a US size 8 with healthy sized butt and thighs that are now blistered from this suit!!! :-(

My doc called me back yesterday and I'm waiting for the clinic to open up so I can get the nurse to adjust this suit for me. It's literally ripping into my skin.

I kept waking up all night. To make matters worse I have the worst TAILBONE pain ever!!! Is this normal? I tried to search but couldn't find anything about tailbone pain after tummy tuck.

I just feel so beat up.

P.s. just realized that the website is based on US...

p.s. just realized that the website is based on US timing. I'm nearly 9 hours ahead of the site, so when I'm counting another day- it indicates the same date as my last entry sometimes. Today is 4 days PO (Jan. 22)

Still 4 days PO Just took a taxi to ps's office...

Still 4 days PO

Just took a taxi to ps's office where her nurse made some adjustments to my compression garment which is toooo tight on my butt and thighs. Feel better now. Really like this clinic, they are very supportive and always ready to help.

JAN 23- DUBAI TIME - DAY 5 PO I finally slept...

JAN 23- DUBAI TIME - DAY 5 PO

I finally slept in my bed last night. Three pillows propped under my head and 4 beneath my knees and I actually slept better than I did in the recliner. I was actually able to sleep without waking up ever 2 hours to go pee or readjust! I still have a lot of odd sensations in my tummy. I feel lots of pulling, tugging, tingling, and sometimes feel like there is a ball inside my tummy. I've been reading a lot of your experiences and it seems like all these sensations are normal, and so is the swelling underneath this hideous compression garment. I sometimes feel the incision site burning and stinging a lot. I wish I could be sure that everything is okay.

My PS still has me bandaged, I won't get the bandage removed and my first view of my tummy until 8 days PO.

Jan. 24, 2012 DAY 6 PO Yaaay!! I made it to day...

Jan. 24, 2012 DAY 6 PO

Yaaay!! I made it to day 6!! This seems like such an uphill some days! I experimented with the horror of uncontrollable laughter yesterday..oooooh..I was in so much pain and per my ps's instructions I got into fetal position to protect my muscles as much as possible. Oh the cramps after it were miserable. I am beginning to realize that the muscle tightness is what dictates how straight I can stand. I wonder if any is prescribed muscle relaxers, seems like they should?!

On a good note, I spoke with my clinic yesterday about picking up my sick note and was given the option of going in today instead of 8 days PO, and of course I accepted!!!! So...today I get to finally see my tummy. I am soooooo anxious. All of last night I went through the "not worth it" review pics to prepare myself for the worst. It was hard to get to bed last night. I know that it's not good to do that, but I'm terrified. I'll be sure to take a pic and post it for you to see.

6 days PO - 24 Jan Tadaaaaa!!!! Here is my pic!...

6 days PO - 24 Jan

Tadaaaaa!!!! Here is my pic! what do you girls think? I think I like it!!! I'm hopeful that it will only improve with time. In looking at my pre and now post pic...I'm ready to say that it's WORTH IT!!

Jan. 25, 2012 7 DAYS PO I got out of bed...

Jan. 25, 2012 7 DAYS PO

I got out of bed because it hurt too much to stay in bed despite how much I want to be asleep. So many aches and pains...my back, tailbone, knees, and ankles. Wonder if the 4 pillows underneath my knees are making my knees and ankles hurt. Hoping I'll be able to doze off and rest a little.

Last week like now, I was in the middle of...

Last week like now, I was in the middle of surgery!!! How exciting to be 7 days PO!! I'm so excited and hopeful after seeing my belly!

8 days PO I changed my dressings and before...

8 days PO

I changed my dressings and before that took a few photos to upload. Things are looking better so far. On Monday I'm due to go in and get the belly button stitches removed. The incision stitches are dissolvable. My back is a bit straighter, though not much. I went grocery shopping with hubby yesterday and although I was slouched over, it was good to be out. After the 1 hour shopping trip, I was really tired!

9 DAYS PO- 27 JAN I'm feeling a lot better and...

9 DAYS PO- 27 JAN

I'm feeling a lot better and having more energy. I'm still not fully straight..still have about 15% to stand up straight. My only problem is that when I wake up after sleeping in my bed with pillows under my knees, my left knee is soooo painful as are both my ankles. Wonder if the blood supply is getting cut off. Will try something different tonight and hope it helps.

I'm paying a lot of attention to my nutrition!! I'm having:
-turkish coffee with honey in it and tea as well
-No sugars or processed meats!!!
-Over 6 or 7 fruits or veggies daily with an emphasis on:
---sweet potatoes, carrots, pumpkin,tomatoes, prunes, tangerines, apples, cucumbers, and mango
-No carbs(bread, rice, white or brown) whatsoever because of their sugar content and how filling they are with the exception of the occasional unsweetened granola.
-Lemon water
-Chamomile Tea
-Walnuts
-Salads with parsley and olive oil and lemon (no dressings)
-No carbonated beverages or juices or milk (all make so much gas)
-Unsweetened Yogurt
-Chicken, fish, and even red meats because of their vitamin A content
-Sugar interferes with the healing process and that is why I'm trying to avoid it.
-I'm also using bromelain twice daily

Vitamin A is vital in the rebuilding of new skin.

11 days PO I'm swollen :-( I usually swell...

11 days PO
I'm swollen :-(

I usually swell right before my period is due and it's due in a few days so I know that my PMS is NOT helping things along :-(

I applied some Manuka Honey 16+ today. It has really good reviews and recommendations.

This process requires patience and patience is NOT my forte. I'm still not standing up straight and I'm still wearing my compression garment. Today is day 11, and on day 13 (after tomorrow)I'm due to go in and get my bb stitches removed. One of my pms symptoms is that I have more of an appetite and while I'm not eating junk food, I, like many real-selfers, am beginning to worry that I will gain weight! one day at a time....

I'm overly optimistic...TODAY IS 10 DAYS PO!! NOT 11!!

I'm overly optimistic...TODAY IS 10 DAYS PO!! NOT 11!!

Still 10 days PO Just pulled up a before pic...

Still 10 days PO

Just pulled up a before pic from the same side as a pic I took today. Feeling really discouraged. There isn't any flattening from the side?!!! Lipo and TT and this is it? Also, my tummy feels soooo hard, what is that?

DAY 11 PO I've been doing a lot of reading on...

DAY 11 PO

I've been doing a lot of reading on this Lymphedemia that is causing this post TT/Lip swelling. I have also realized that I haven't been drinking enough water this weekend so I've been drinking drinking drinking water and eating fresh fruits and avoiding salts.. Tomorrow I get BB stiches removed!! yaaay!

12 days PO Jan 30, 2012 Today I got my bb...

12 days PO Jan 30, 2012

Today I got my bb stitches removed. Swelling is getting better as I stay hydrated and avoid salt. My period is still due tomorrow or after tomorrow so it will be good for it to come and deflate me a bit. I also found out from my nurse that when I apply Fucidin, I should only cover the incision with gauze, otherwise it heats up the skin too much and it can become irritated which is what happened to my incision especially above my bikini area which is the most area that experiences tension. She applied a special dressing to build the skin up. She said it was really good for this king of an incision and it is called "INTRA" something..can't remember. I also drove today and felt comfortable doing so. I'm not standing straight up, but am feeling better generally. Tomorrow I will go to work for 2 hours to begin getting my feet wet.

13 days PO 31/1/2012 The days are just zooming...

13 days PO 31/1/2012

The days are just zooming by!! How exciting!!!! I'm having my morning coffee and will go change many bandages in a bit...

I got a second binder. These binders are YOGA brand and are really amazing!! I have moved it to the smaller size. PS say that in addition to staying hydrated and avoiding salt, wearing my binder keeps swelling down because it manually drains fluid.

Happy dressings everyone and I'll try n post a pic today...

2 weeks PO!!! I'm finally here!! I'm feeling a...

2 weeks PO!!!

I'm finally here!! I'm feeling a lot better energy wise. Just a little bummed out because the incision right above the pubic area is experiencing a bit of "delayed healing". PS says that is normal because of the stretch marks and that the skin there is the weakest and has least access to blood so it heals the slowest. I'm now using Manuka honey dressings.

It's nice to be able to shower and do things. I have tried on a bikini and I look so much better than before, but apparently am still swollen so the final result will be a lot better.

Going back to work tomorrow!!

going back to work tomorrow!!

I'm 3 weeks and 4 days post op and am feeling a...

I'm 3 weeks and 4 days post op and am feeling a lot better. Swelling is going down and so is that hardness. Today I had my 4th session of lipomassage LPG(2 more left in my tummy tuck package. Here is my updated pic!!!! SO GLAD I DID THIS!!!

I am now the me, that I have tried tirelessly to...

I am now the me, that I have tried tirelessly to let go of!! I repeated to myself so many times that a tummy tuck wasn't for me; that I needed to be okay with me the way I was. I was talking with a friend, and reiterating how much I wished I could do a tt, but that I just won't...etc...etc.. and my friend just asked, "why not do it for yourself?". I was haunted for days with that question, why not? why wasn't I worth it? why is a mother not allowed to restore parts of her that have been worn and torn?

I now walk out of the shower and am so pleased with what I see. Sagging skin and stretch marks do not happen to every mother, so while this is something that can inflict women, it doesn't impact all of them. This is not a hallmark of motherhood. Hallmarks of motherhood are warmth, love, and unconditional love.

I asked my 10 year old daughter (before my surgery) how she felt about if I went to the doctor and got my muscles sewn up and my skin pulled up a little. She smiled and said "mama, that's cause we loved staying in your tummy so loooong we just stretched it all up didn't we?" and then this brilliant child said "it's okay for mom's to take care of themselves too".

4 weeks yesterday! I've been so busy with work I...

4 weeks yesterday! I've been so busy with work I haven't updated much. I posted my most updated pic in a yellow thong and I'm pretty happy!!! Still wearing a CG and have a total love/hate relationship with it. It's great to feel so active and come and go. Still get a little swelly above bikini area after long day at work but LPG (lipomassage) really helps soften hardness up and I think my swelling is pretty good for 4 weeks po.

So busy with work these days that I'm not finding...

So busy with work these days that I'm not finding much time to update my profile. Feeling good, though still wearing compression garment. Mons pubis area is swollen throughout day...that is annoying. Scar is beginning to completely heal. I've been struggling with some delayed healing because of the stretch marks and its finally getting better. I'm posting updated pix.

I'm 6 weeks post! I'm feeling wonderful and I've...

I'm 6 weeks post! I'm feeling wonderful and I've left aside the CG!! First few days was hard and I'd wear it a little bit to feel supported, then I just let it go and I feel so much more free. I was a size 10 in jeans and now am an easy size 8 and I'm still a bit swollen!! I've got silicone sheets on the scar and am hoping it will ease up.

Other than that, I am back in heals and feeling so wonderful. I noticed a few days ago that my belly button is a bit right off center but it is ever ever so slight that you literally have to draw you finger down my sternum all the way down to notice it. This is still such an amazing experience and I don't regret it one bit!! It was worth every penny and more.

I'm 8 weeks and feeling wonderful. I'm not wearing...

I'm 8 weeks and feeling wonderful. I'm not wearing the CG anymore and am used to the feeling of being without it. I'm using a silicone strip on the scare and am generally cool with it except for the bottom part which had some delayed healing and is not as nice as the rest. Dr. offered to do a revision at 6 month mark if I don't like the way it looks.

A yr and half later!!

I'm posting my after pic...a year and half later. I am sooo pleased with my results and my flat belly. I have a little bit of hyperpigmentation on my scar that I might do something about. Doc told me either that is my body's tendency or high stress after surgery may have led to darkening. Either way...I'm really glad I did this for myself and blessed with an amazing surgeon who gave me more than I ever expected.

pic one and half yrs later

will disclose after surgery

Dr. Sahar Kazzaz at Cosmesurge Dubai is an amazing Doctor who demonstrates as a professional and meticulous doctor. She is very dedicated to her work and this shows in the level or precision and confidence with which she attends to tummys. She is clear, honest, and accessible.

5 out of 5 stars Overall rating
4 out of 5 stars Doctor's bedside manner
4 out of 5 stars Answered my questions
4 out of 5 stars After care follow-up
4 out of 5 stars Time spent with me
5 out of 5 stars Phone or email responsiveness
5 out of 5 stars Staff professionalism & courtesy
5 out of 5 stars Payment process
4 out of 5 stars Wait times
Was this review helpful? 3 others found this helpful