Back, Flanks, Abs 47 Year Old Male - Chevy Chase, MD

1/18/03 had liposuction on my back, flanks, and...

1/18/03 had liposuction on my back, flanks, and fat injected into my buttocks. The fat injection was more about my long term health and where I will gain weight instead of looks. I frankly didn't care how my butt looked. I have to go back later this week to have the abs done and look forward to finishing it up.

I was a little concerned based on all I read here about the recovery. I have a bunch of kids and needed to be back to work and back to being a dad quickly. So far, it has exceeded by expectations by a long shot.
Day 1 I stayed at a hotel and had a lot of leakage. Probably filled about 10 towels at my hotel. I can only imagine the person cleaning the room wondering if someone was shot in my room :) The surgery itself was painful at times but manageable. Knowing what the end result would be kept me motivated through the pain. Certainly the fat injection in my buttocks was the most painful.


Day 2 I was really sore. Couldn't put my shoes on or bend over without pain. Took my meds and rested for the most part. Drainage stopped overnight so that is great.


Day 3 I was much less sore and was able to go for about a 1 mile walk with my kids. Couldn't wait to take a shower on Day 4! Started to feel itchy.


Day 4 (today) Woke up and took a shower and cleaned my compression garment. Feel 90% better today than day 1. Still tender but have energy and definitely could work today if I wanted to. I took the day off just in case I needed it. Some people said they almost fainted when they showered but as for me, I felt great! Loved the look of my back and flanks already but I know I have a long way to go with the healing but the worst if over for those parts. Still need to get the abs done later this week and anxious to finish that up.

I've been taking Arnica, Bromelain, and finally got to put on Arnica Gel after my shower today. The incision sites are TINY- I can already tell they will be nonexistent in a month or two.

Here are my suggestions based on my limited experience:
Put a white T shirt on under your compression garment. Someone else here recommended that and it definitely helps.
If you are itch, I found a trick that worked great for poison ivy. Take a hair dryer and put it on the hottest setting. Hold it up to the skin or the coompression garment. Heat up the area to where you can barely take the pain anymore. usually that shuts down the itching for a few hours.

1/24/13. Six days post surgery the bruising and...

1/24/13. Six days post surgery the bruising and pain are decreasing. Feeling pretty good and looking forward to finishing my next surgery on Tuesday to do my abs. So far everything has been exactly as the doctor said it would be. Couldn't be happier.

1/27/13 Bruising and pain definitely getting...

1/27/13
Bruising and pain definitely getting better. If it wasn't for the compression garment and for the fact that I go back from my abs in two days, I would have worked out at the gym today. Swelling is a bummer but getting better by the day. Starting to feel the hard lumps everyone talks about. Can't really tell on the results yet but pleased overall so far. The fat injections were definitely the most painful part of the surgery as well as the recovery. If I didn't do those, I have a feeling I'd be doing even better than I am.

1/28. Got my abs done today. Dr. K is awesome and...

1/28. Got my abs done today. Dr. K is awesome and I highly recommend him. He knows his stuff and I'm pleased with the results on my back and flanks already. Will have to wait a couple of weeks to see the abs!

In an effort to be honest with others, the procedure definitely has its painful moments. I just kep thinking of the end result and it helped me get through. Don't let the pain scare you away! It is manageable and will end and the results will be worth it.

I also want to thank georgette who is dr k's nurse. She was so comforting and helpful. She was a huge blessing to me.

Bring food for post surgery. It will help you feel better faster.

One day post surgery on my abs. Have to say that...

One day post surgery on my abs. Have to say that the pain day 1 was pretty bad but today is much better. Done draining too. Just need another two days before I can take a shower and clean up!

For those of you who are freaked out by the pain, go ahead and get knocked out. The pain is manageable and the surgery is so worth it based on what I have seen so far! Just make sure you get an excellent doctor. I picked Dr. K because he does a TON of these surgeries. I would never go to someone who does not have a ton of lipo experience.

Looking forward to getting the compression garment off and working out again!

Day 3 after my last surgery and life is good! ...

Day 3 after my last surgery and life is good! Got to shower and clean the compression garment. I'm off my pain meds and feeling pretty close to normal. I have some pain bending over in the abs and hardness in my back but for the most part, doing better than I thought. I can already see the results in my back and love it and look forward to seeing my tire tube go away up front and then head back to the gym. If you are considering this surgery, go to Dr. K! He is worth his fee!

2/8/13 Had a check up and all is well. It has...

2/8/13
Had a check up and all is well. It has been three weeks since my back and 10 days from abs. I have been at the gym the last couple days and feeling good in general. Still have some swelling but in general, life is good. Already lost 3 inches on my waist and expect another inch or two when swelling gone. Totally would recommend dr k and this procedure. Would do it again in heartbeat despite the pain and inconvenience.

2/12/13. Two weeks post op on my abs and feel...

2/12/13. Two weeks post op on my abs and feel great! Would have done this 10 years ago if I knew the results! Lost 7 pounds and 4 inches around my belly. Went from 37 inch waist to 33/34 and from 197 to 190 pounds and I have not gotten rid of all my swelling. Can't wait to see what it looks like at 90 days ! If you are considering this go with dr k. He is fantastic and the pain is well worth the outcome. Will post pix when I get them from him at 90 day checkup.
Chevy Chase Plastic Surgeon

Solid doctor, knows his stuff, delivered what he said he would. If you are getting liposuction done use him! Dr. Khalifeh is awesome and I highly recommend him. I think a lot of the horror stories I read here were done by "doctors" who didn't do a lot of liposuction. I wanted someone who does a TON of it and Dr. K fit the bill. He is knowledgeable and so far, pretty much everything he said has happened as he said it would.

5 out of 5 stars Overall rating
5 out of 5 stars Doctor's bedside manner
5 out of 5 stars Answered my questions
5 out of 5 stars After care follow-up
5 out of 5 stars Time spent with me
5 out of 5 stars Phone or email responsiveness
5 out of 5 stars Staff professionalism & courtesy
5 out of 5 stars Payment process
5 out of 5 stars Wait times
Was this review helpful? 1 other found this helpful

Comments (1)

I am day 8 . Lipo full back, full abs and inner thighs. Lots of pain, swelling and bruising. Beware your private parts can get very swollen and turn all kinds of color. I hear with men their balls swell up and can turn black. Eventually it all goes away. I took arnica, gel and all kinds of inflammation meds...Good luck on next round.
  • Reply